IEC Metric Motors

Results per Page:

What is an IEC Motor

IEC motors are often referred to as 'metric motors' and are motors designed to the European standard.

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), NEMA’s counterpart, sets different standards than the motors used in North America. You’ll notice differences in the voltage, frame size, mounts, and hazardous location classifications. This can make it difficult to cross reference a metric motor to a NEMA option.

Metric motors are particularly useful when you need to replace a motor for a piece of equipment designed and built outside of North America. In the 70’s and 80’s, a lot of industrial equipment from Europe was adopted in Canada, meaning there’s a large demand for metric motor replacements. Commonly, food manufacturing equipment built in Europe is used in Canada. When it’s time to replace the motor, ensure you select a metric motor vs a NEMA standard motor.

Where to Buy IEC Motors

IEC motors are widely available in Canada. Although they're not as commonly stocked as the NEMA models, many trusted brands have good stock levels for metric motors, including Baldor, Lafert, Marathon, Leeson, and Brook Crompton.

Start by typing the motor catalogue number into the SmartSearch and find your product. Typically, motors will arrive within 1-5 business days after being ordered. We ship across Canada. Stock locations include:

  • Abbotsford, British Columbia
  • Edmonton, Alberta
  • Winnepeg, Manitoba
  • Burlington, Ontario
  • Toronto, Ontario
  • Saint-Laurent, Quebec
  • Anjou, Quebec

Shop IEC electric motors online through our Canadian website today. With over 2400 SKUs and convenient filtering options, you can easily find the motor you’re searching for.

Need a hand finding the right motor for your application or legacy replacement? Contact our motors experts. They have extensive knowledge, backed by over 45 years of experience, to help you with your electric motor project.

IEC Motor Sizes

IEC frame motors are measured differently than NEMA motors.

Download the full IEC motor frame chart here:

IEC Motor Efficiency

Through the test standard IEC 60034-2-1 for electric motors and the IEC 60034-30-1 classification scheme, the IEC has played a significant role in defining energy-efficient electric motor systems. The classification system includes four levels of efficiency:

  • IE1 Standard Efficiency
  • IE2 High Efficiency
  • IE3 Premium Efficiency
  • IE4 Super Premium Efficiency

Governments use this classification system to determine the minimum energy performance standards (MEPS). For example, the USA set their MEPS to the equivalent of IE3.


Related Articles